

**POETS' ROUNDTABLE OF ARKANSAS** 

Founded February 5, 1931 Member of the National Federation of State Poetry Societies, Inc. http://poetsroundtableofarkansas.org

# **2024 POETRY DAY CONTESTS**

## **Open Only to PRA Members Who Are Arkansas Residents**

**1.Sybil Nash Abrams Award: \$1,000/\$400/\$250.**Poet is eligible for first prize once every five years. Poem must be historically accurate, original, and unpublished. Enclose bibliography (not included in line count) on a separate page. First place winner ineligible to enter contest for four years thereafter. Subject: **Arkansas Historical Events**. Form: Any. Line limit: 60 – 100. Chair: Marilyn Joyner

### **Open to PRA Members Only**

**2. Rosa Zagnoni Marinoni Award: \$50/\$30/\$20, HM \$10/\$10/\$10.** Subject: Fruit. Form: Any. Line limit: 20. Chair: Larry and Desiree Witherspoon.

**3. 3 Little Lines: \$30/\$20/\$15,** Subject: Nature. Form: Haiku- traditional, 17 syllables (short, long, short lines; does not have to be 5/7/5). Line limit: 3. Chair: Fay Guinn.

**4. Roundtable Poets of Hot Springs: \$25/\$15/\$10, HM \$5/\$5/\$5.** Subject: Spring. Form: Any rhymed. Line limit: 24. Chair: Roundtable Poets of Hot Springs.

**5.** Couchwood Award: \$40/\$25/\$20, HM \$5/\$5/\$5. Subject: Any. Form: Rondel. Line limit: 13. Chair: Pat Laster.

**6. Neville Saylor Memorial Award: \$50/\$30/\$20, HM \$15/\$10/\$5**. Subject: Perseverance. Form. Neville. Line Limit: 7. (See poetscollective.org/poetryforms/neville/) Chair: John Crawford.

**7. Banner Mountain Girl Award: \$75/\$50/\$30, HM \$15/\$15/\$15.** Subject: The homeplace. Form: Any. Line limit: 36. Chair: The Family of Freeda Baker Nichols.

#### **Open to All Poets**

**8. Baker Nichols Award: \$75/\$50/\$30, HM \$15/\$15.** Subject: Why I Love America. Form: Baker Sonnet. (Baker Sonnet format: iambic pentameter- aBbcaabcdcdBee). Line limit: 14. Chair: The Family of Freeda Baker Nichols.

**9. Opal Jane & Harry O'Neal Memorial Award: \$50/\$35/\$25, HM \$5/\$5/\$5.** Subject: Any. Form: Any. Line limit: 32. Chair: Ben H. O'Neal.

**10. Opal Jane & Harry O'Neal Humor Award: \$50/\$35/\$25, HM \$5/\$5/\$5.** Subject: Honey-do's. Form: Any. Line limit: 24. Chair: Ben H. O'Neal.

**11. Sharp Award: \$50/\$30\$20, HM \$5/\$5/\$5.** Subject: Any. Form: Free verse. Line limit: 36. Chair: Cathy Moran.

**12.** Arts & Crackers Award: **\$25/\$15/\$10**. Subject: Any. Form: Limerick. Line limit: 5. (No illicit or foul entries—keep child friendly) Chair: Alyssa Darby Family

**13.** L.C. Bridges Memorial Award: \$60/\$25/\$15. Subject: Christian poetry. Form: Free verse. Line limit: 24. Chair: Pat Bridges.

**14. Tom J. Smith Memorial Award: \$50/\$30/\$20.** Subject: The gift of love. Form: Any. Line limit: 24. Chair: Donna Smith.

**15. Hazel J. Alexander Memorial**: **\$50/\$30/\$20.** Subject: A smile. Form: Any. Line limit: 24. Chair: Donna Smith.

**16. Humor Award: \$60/\$40/\$25, HM \$5/\$5/\$5.** Subject: Humor. Form: Any. Line limit: 24. Chair: Dennis Patton.

**17. Saddle and Spurs Award: \$30\$20/\$15.** Subject: American West. Form: Nonet. Line limit: 9. Chair: John McPherson .

**18.** Nature's Wonders: \$25/\$15/\$10, HM \$5/\$5/5. Subject: Nature's beauty. Form: Any. Line limit: 40. Chair: Two Rivers Poetry of Ft. Smith.

**19. Jim Barton Memorial Award: \$35/\$20/\$10, HM \$5/\$5/\$5.** Subject: The wind in the pines. Form: Any. Line limit: 24. Chair: SAPOP.

**20. That's Life Award: \$30/\$20/\$10.**Subject: Teardrop(s). Form: Free verse. Line limit: 32. Chair: Laura Bridges.

**21. Cathy Parker Memorial Award: \$40/\$25/\$15, HM \$5/\$5/\$5.** Subject: Any. Form: Any. Line limit: 24. Chair: Saline County Branch.

**22. Florence Gibbs Memorial Award: \$25/\$15/\$10.** Subject: Any. Form: Any. Line limit: 36. Chair: Anna Noack.

**23. Betty Heidelberger Memorial Award: \$25/\$15/\$10.** Subject: Any. Form: Any. Line limit: 36. Chair: Anna Noack.

**24.** Miriam S. Strauss Memorial Award: \$25/\$15/\$10. Subject: Teachers and students. Form: Any. Line limit: 10 - 30. Chair: Russell H. Strauss.

**25.** The Golden Shovel Award : \$25/\$15/\$10. Subject: Any. Form: Golden Shovel. Line limit: As required by Golden Shovel form. Cite original poem and author. (see www.writersdigest.com/write-better-poetry/golden-shovel-poetic-form) Chair: Sandra Soli.

**26. Gin Creek Poet's Award: \$25/\$15/\$10.** Subject: Any. Form: Extended Metaphor. For example: "'Hope' is the thing with feathers" by Emily Dickinson or "The Road Not Taken" by Robert Frost. Line limit: 28. Chair: Gin Creek Poets.

**27. Imagination Station: \$30/\$20/\$10, HM \$5/\$5/\$5**. Subject: Libraries. Form: Any. Line Limit: 24. Chair: Lydia Cheatham.

**28.** Give It A Try Award: :\$30/\$20/\$15, HM \$5/\$5/\$5. Subject: Any. Form: Any. Line limit: 24. Chair: Terrie Jacks.

**29. Write Like Odgen Nash Award: \$30/\$20/\$15**. Subject: Humor. Form: Rhymed. Line limit: 24. (Made-up words encouraged.) Chair: Nancy LaChance.

**30.** Elsie Larson Memorial Award: \$25/\$10/\$5. Subject: Any – humor preferred. Form: Word Prompts – Any form may be used as long as 3 of the following 5 words are used in the poem: thwart, settle, kabob, crash, persist. Line limit: 30. Chair: Gail Denham.

**31. Mattie Campbell's Ozark Award: In memory of my maternal grandmother, who was born in Fayetteville, AR, in 1866.: \$50/\$35/\$25, HM \$15/\$15/\$15**. Subject: Celebrating the Ozark Spirit. Form: Any. Line limit: 30. Chair: Joanie Roberts.

#### **CONTEST RULES**

- 1. Mail all entries and fees in one envelope postmarked no earlier than July 1, 2024, and no later than August 15, 2024, to Christine Henderson, PO Box 9122, Searcy, AR 72145.
- 2. Non-members may enter all contests for which they are eligible for \$15; members may enter for \$10. Make check or money order payable to "PRA." (PRA only accepts US currency, checks, or money orders.)
- 3. Submit one typed Times New Roman or similar font (12) original, and one copy for each contest entered with no illustrations or embellishments on entries. Type number and name of award in upper left corner of both copies. On duplicate only, place name and address in upper right corner (labels accepted).
- 4. Submit a separate typed page listing name, address, phone number and/or email address, and total number of contests entered.
- 5. Titles and blank lines are not counted in line limits.
- 6. All poems must be original, unpublished work of the poet, and not under consideration for publication. PRA defines publication as having an ISBN or ISSN.
- 7. Submit only one poem in each contest. No poem may be entered in more than one contest.
- 8. No entries will be returned. All manuscripts will be destroyed.
- 9. Contest chairs are not necessarily judges.
- 10. Three honorable mentions will be awarded without prizes unless otherwise specified.
- 11. Entries not following rules will be disqualified.
- **12.** If a different website is not listed for the contest, the poetry form should be found at shadowpoetry.com